What they want

When I first saw Slenderman, I thought he was the sandman. My father had just died and I went through a long bout of insomnia; in desperation my mother started telling me stories to try lulling me to sleep. My grandmother tried to help; she told me if I didn’t go to sleep before the sandman showed up at the witching hour (an hour I’m still not sure of), he would snatch my eyes out of my head.

This, as you can imagine, was not a comforting thought. I was six, and I didn’t know that adults lied.

Not long after, I saw him in my window, late at night. He scared me at first, but he was still, so still, and so incredibly quiet. Just as loud noises and multiple noises irritate and upset me, the presence of a quiet, calm person tends to sooth me. The first time I saw Slenderman, he lulled me to sleep.

The other thing I met earlier still. Someone suggested this creature is something called ‘The Rake’. As near as I can tell, The Rake is a humanoid demon that either tells of death, warns of death, or hurts people. All descriptions of it are close to what I saw, but I am reluctant to call this thing by that name. By any name. Naming things is a bad practice.

Also, The Rake tends to be described as a hairless, malformed humanoid, and it is supposed to speak. Or be capable of speech. The thing I saw, as The Bitch described in her vague and annoying way, is much more like a large, shaved dog. About the size of a Saint Bernard, but muscular and bald, and with teeth more like an angler fish’s. Its teeth are needle-like and protrusive; there seem to be too many of them in its mouth. Its claws, too, are longer and sharper than are normal on a canine.

When I first saw it, it was lurking in the trees that fringed a little park by my house. It was laying in a little ditch, making a noise like a dog will make when it’s sick. That’s what I thought it was, at first — a sick dog, and I called to my mother to come see, and started pushing through the brush. I don’t remember if I made it through and went up to the thing, or if it lashed out before a got to its little nest. All I can be positive of is that one second I was fine, if a little scared, and the next my coat was torn open and blood was falling in the leaves and I was alone there. My mother came and scooped me up, and ran me home, all the while asking, ‘what got you, what got you?’, like she hadn’t seen the beast of a creature. I don’t remember it leaving. I think I went to the hospital for stitches, or my father might have given them to me at home. He died a few months later, and everything around that time is a little fuzzy in my head.

The Slenderman wants something. The persistence of his lurking, the insistent staring and stalking (and, yes: eyeless or no, he stares) tells enough of that. But what exactly he wants, I don’t know.

The other thing… I think it just wants to eat.

Leave a Reply

